Member Services



The AAO Political Action Committee (AAOPAC) was established in 1994 to assist the specialty of orthodontics and the profession of dentistry in influencing the federal government.

What is AAOPAC?

The AAOPAC is established under federal law to solicit funds from members of the AAO and make contributions to the campaigns of candidates for elected positions in federal government. PACs do not lobby. Rather, PACs influence government only by supporting candidates whose views are consistent with the goals of the AAO or opposing those whose views are not compatible with those of the specialty and the profession.

Why Create a PAC?

The AAOPAC can magnify the influence of orthodontists on government in ways that the AAO cannot. As a nonprofit organization, the AAO cannot contribute to the campaigns of candidates. However, the AAOPAC can do so. The AAOPAC can collect the contributions of many orthodontists and make a significant contribution to a candidate, on behalf of the specialty as a whole. The AAOPAC also serves to reinforce the goals of the profession by supporting candidates to whom other PACs have already contributed the maximum amount allowed by law.

Further, in those instances where a particular issue would affect orthodontists more than other dentists, the AAOPAC can focus the specialty’s dollars more effectively.

How Can I Support The AAOPAC?

Visit the AAOPAC’s Contribution site by clicking here.

View a list of AAOPAC contributors (Excel).

Who Runs AAOPAC?

Decisions such as which candidates to support are made by the AAOPAC Board of Directors made up of representatives of the constituent organizations, as well as liaison members from the AAO Board of Trustees and the Council on Governmental Affairs. The current Board of Directors are listed below. The Board wants to hear from you regarding candidates in your area. Please call or write the AAOPAC with relevant information on candidates, because the Board represents you. You may contact Kevin Dillard at the AAO Central Office, 401 N. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63141, (800) 424-2841, ext. 525, or contact your constituent organization.

[Contact AAOPAC by e-mail].

2012 Board of Directors

J. Dean Jensen, Chairman (SWSO)
William E. Crutchfield II (SAO)
J. Richard Pfeffer (GLAO)
Gary O. Inman (COGA)
Kevin D. Horner (MSO)
Lisa P. Howard (NESO)
Dwight D. Baker (RMSO)
Howard L. Hunt (PCSO)
George W. Scott (MASO)
DeWayne B. McCamish (AAO Board Liaison)
Kevin Dillard (Treasurer)
Vacant (Assistant Treasurer)

Latest NESO News

Congratulations NESO 2020...

September 18, 2020

Read More >


September 18, 2020

Read More >

Message from Phil Prentic...

September 18, 2020

Read More >

First Annual NESO Cup Com...

September 18, 2020

Read More >


September 16, 2020

Read More >